Book Review: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Synopsis (from Amazon.com): Sent to Green Gables farm by mistake, eleven-year-old orphan Anne Shirley prays that Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert will decide to keep her nevertheless. The middle-aged brother and sister wanted a boy to help around the farm; a skinny girl with bright red hair and a fiery personality to match is not at all what they need. But Anne’s quick wit and boundless imagination, developed over a lifetime spent in and out of orphanages, soon charm the Cuthberts and their Prince Edward Island friends and neighbors. The story of a special young girl finally finding her home, Anne of Green Gables is a masterpiece of children’s fiction and a true delight for readers of all ages.

Age: 7

My thoughts (positive elements): This is among my all time favorite books. I’ve read it at least twice a year since I was seven. Anne and I are practically the same person and I dream of finding a guy like Gilbert.

My thoughts (negative elements): Diana’s character has always kind of irritated me. She seems a bit whiny.

Rating 4.5/5

1 Comment

Filed under Ages 10-12, Ages 13-15, Ages 15+, Ages 8-10, Books I Loved, Historical Fiction

One response to “Book Review: Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

  1. What a great book about resilience in life! I love the way Anne just wouldn’t quit in relationships, in family, and in her writing. It was good of LM Montgomery to let us see her grow into a beautiful, mature woman.

Leave a comment