Book Review: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Synopsis (from rickriordan.com): Twelve-year-old Percy Jackson is on the most dangerous quest of his life. With the help of a satyr and a daughter of Athena, Percy must journey across the United States to catch a thief who has stolen the original weapon of mass destruction – Zeus’ master bolt. Along the way, he must face a host of mythological enemies determined to stop him. Most of all, he must come to terms with a father he has never known, and an Oracle that has warned him of betrayal by a friend.

Age: 7 or 8, but I would like to add that parents may want to read the books with their younger children and make it clear that the Greek gods aren’t real.

Inappropriate content: none

My thoughts: I love the Percy Jackson series and I always have. I first read this book at the age of nine and Percy Jackson and the Olympians has been my favorite series, tied with only the great Harry Potter. I think everyone should read Percy Jackson at some point. I’ve never met someone who’s read the series and disliked it.

Sequels: The Sea of Monsters; The Titan’s Curse; The Battle of the Labyrinth; and The Last Olympian.

Oh, and by the way, my aunt wrote a great article on why Christians should read Harry Potter. Check it out: http://thelinkbetween.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/8-reasons-im-reading-harry-potter-to-my-children/

6 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Ages 10-12, Ages 13-15, Ages 15+, Ages 8-10, Books I Loved, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Book Review: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

  1. Noelle

    Loved the post but I disagree with the age that people should begin reading it because depending on the kid, they might need to be firmer in their faith ( Christian usually ) to understand that the Greek gods are fake and are only mythological, because Rick Riordan dose a great job at making them sound real. So I think for kids not so set in their faith it should be more the age of ten. But like I know when I was 7-8 I would have been fine with it, same with you really it depends on the kid I think.

  2. Noelle

    Also I LOVED that link Grace it was amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

