Book Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

My English class read The Hobbit last semester and went to see the movie last Monday. It was a delightful book, full of adventure and mystery. I liked the songs included in it, especially the dwarf song. My favorite characters are Kili, Fili, Gandalf, and Gollum. Tolkien is an amazing writer; he really captivates his readers. Two of my favorite quotes in this book come from Chapter One, and they are both said by Mr. Bilbo Baggins:

“We are plain, quiet folk with no use for adventures. Nasty, disturbing, uncomfortable things! Make you late for dinner!”

“Tell me what you want done and I will try it, if I have to walk from here to the East of the East and fight the Wild Were-worms in the Last Desert.”

To quote the book, Bilbo’s “Tookishness” is winning out in the latter statement. However, the former statement is spoken like a true hobbit.

Overall, it was a great book and I recommend it to all ages.

7 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Ages 10-12, Ages 8-10, Books I Liked, Fantasy

7 responses to “Book Review: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. Emma

    Hey Grace! Hahah my sister just went to see that movie today!:)

  2. bouncehopjump

    Hey Grace! Its Brittany from tween you and me. Cool Blog πŸ™‚ Here is a link to mine : http://bouncehopjump.wordpress.com/
    I created it today so not much on it yet but πŸ™‚

  3. Hello! Oh, I LOVE this book and movie! The movie is totally awesome!!! They do kinda stray from the book…. but I love it anyway! πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comments on my blog, you’re really sweet! Oh, weird question maybe, but are you still 13, and are you not home-schooled anymore? πŸ™‚

    • Yes, I’m still thirteen, and no I am no longer completely home-schooled. Since last year, I’ve been going to a part-time private classical Christian school, which I love. And I’m still kind of home-schooled because I don’t have school on Mondays or Tuesdays!!! It’s the best of both worlds, really.

      • Okay, thanks!

        To follow me, what you do is, I have a button, “committed to purity” and right under that is my followers, you click “join this site” and it’ll let you follow me. Thanks for the interest in the giveaway! I look forward to seeing you soon! πŸ™‚

  4. Clara

    Grace, one of your favorite characters is Gollum?!! He is funny, I’ll give you that, but he is also creepy. Does he scare you even a little bit?

Leave a Reply

